Jun 25, 2012

Jangan Pernah Ingkar...

First and foremost, let me describe to you how my mom is like...

She's a very lively, friendly and talkative person. She ages gracefully that no one ever guessed her age correctly. People always thought she's still in her forties whereas she's actually turning 58 this year

She was an athlete and still is very active for someone in her age. She beat me once in a marathon when I was 14 and still boast about it until today.

Looking at her outward appearance, nobody would have guessed that there were hard days, failed marriages and tragedies in her life. She is the strongest woman that I've ever known!

However... She can drive me crazy!!!

When I graduated, I told her that I want to settle down when I turn 25. She said, "Adik!! Kasi puas bujang dulu!!!" She told my dad what I said to her and my dad suggested that I should think about marriage when I turn 29. Okay, one fact about my parents; BOTH OF THEM GOT MARRIED AT YOUNG AGE. My mom's 1st marriage was when she was 16 and my dad married my mom when he was only 20.. My theory, "hurm.. mungkin dorang nda puas bujang..."

This goes on and on and on for a few weeks that I had to give them the definition of 'Puas Bujang'

"Puas Bujang itu sangat subjektif.."

So then, I had a change of mind and thought that I should take their advice as I was starting to enjoy the bliss of singledom and the joy of having  my own money to spend on things that I like :P I started travelling, quite excessively, I guess..

Then comes this season where lots of my cousins and her friends' children who are of the same age as me got married.. And she drove me crazy again..She asked me if I secretly have a boyfriend. And when I said, "No. I don't have a boyfriend. If I do have, why should I be secretive about it?? I'll tell you".. She responded, "Ka adik nda suka lelaki??" I was like "WHAT!!!?? HAHAHA"


Then comes the moment when she start bugging me with the marriage course topic. "Adik pigi la kursus kawen tu. Lepas ni kursus kawen seminggu ok!" I refuse to because I think it'll be embarrassing if I end up being a spinster for the rest of my life after I joined the marriage course. She said that I was talking nonsense. I came up with another excuse

GG: What if people ask me when  am I getting married during the course?? They'll expect me to marry soon. They might even thought that I was coming with my future husband

Mommy: Senang jak tu.. Adik cakap la, adik ni wanita bekerjaya.. Lepas ni nda ada masa suda mo ikot marriage course

(-_-") sabar jak la aku.. siap bagi skema jawapan...

And then she start asking my friends to tag along with me to join the marriage course. Surprisingly, quite a number of them responded positively and one afternoon my mom called me at work,

"Adik!! Mommy suda tanya si A, si R and si S. Dorang pon mau join! Okay! Petang ni jua mommy dapatkan date dari Jabatan Agama. And later I'll collect your IC numbers for registration!!"

I was speechless.. Suka hati laaa.. She was so determined so I just let her be.. Recently, she called me again during office hours

Mommy: So, jadi ka July ni
GG: Apa yang jadi??
Mommy: Kursus kawen la muahahaha *evil laugh*
GG: Apa2 jak la mommy *X larat suda mo layan (-_-")*

I don't know what induce her to pester me with this marriage topic. I always thought she is just too cool to even bother about her daughter getting married later than the usual marrying age. Maybe she wants a new member in the family. Or maybe she wants more grandchildren. Or maybe she is worried about me not being interested with guys.

It's not that I'm not interested in guys. It's just that for the past 3 years, I just don't want to think about relationship anymore. I'm just tired of the whole process in a relationship. I have a friend who has been in a relationship for more than 7 years and he said he is not ready for marriage yet. And I somehow can't accept that. I don't even text or chat with any guy because I don't think they show their true colors through those medium of communication :P I only respond to relevant topics.


To me, a guy won't think twice to marry the woman he really loves. So, I don't mind waiting years and years for someone like that to appear. And I'm predicting I'll be single for at least 4 years before I meet someone who wants a rock climber as a wife haha I don't think a woman who is so keen of outdoor activities is seen as wife material in this country and I don't really care as long as I do what I love to do because I'M HAPPIEST WHEN I'M ON A MOUNTAIN!

So, I guess, I'll be dragging my feet to marriage course this July as she wish.. Jangan pernah ingkar dengan keinginan seorang ibu. Marriage course is harmless anyway haha

Jun 21, 2012

Packing the necessaries.. \(^^)/

South Korea is our 4th trip abroad so I just feel like writing what I usually pack when travelling overseas..

No. 1 is of course the international passport (^^)
Without this you can't even pass the check in counter. Make sure you have applied for visas when travelling to countries that require them and this is when research come in handy :) My Dad is travelling to Myanmar in July and just found out about the required visa 4 weeks before his visit because I just sort of randomly googled about it one afternoon. It was such a havoc because we don't know how fast it will be processed.

No. 2 is the International Driving Permit
I applied this in JPJ. Paid RM 150 for the annual fee and make sure that your licence won't expire very soon.   
It's merely a translation of the normal licence. Just a few pages of statement saying you are a competent driver in several languages heee



No 3 Gadgets that will capture and spread every moment of awesomeness..

Me smurf-lappy, me smurf-rugged digicam and me Sony cybershot

The two cameras have their own specialties so I use them in different conditions. The rugged one can withstand extreme temperature and is waterproof so I usually use it when the weather gets rough. The cybershot has sharper image especially for outdoor shots and it makes me look thinner haha

Me smurf-lappy is a very handy little object. The size and light weight enable me to bring it anywhere. I always make sure that our lodging has internet connection. I don't like delaying uploading pictures because I'll be too lazy to do so later and the excitement is lesser.. Plus I need memory space for more pictures!


No 4. The Universal Plug

I just bought this. I used my Dad's plug in previous trips but this is a very crucial little object. We also brought an extension so that we can charge more than one gadgets at one time. 




No 5. It's all about the money money MONEY

Take time to survey which money changer offers the best rate. Even 1 cent can give a significant difference. Bringing enough cash is very important especially if you are planning to shop cheap stuffs because there is a high chance that the stores don't accept credit cards.. Lesson learnt in Bali; Mida and I even bargained for the cheapest motorcycle ride in Ubud because we ran out of cash hehe (^^)>; Or to be safe, make sure you activate your ATM card for international withdrawal :)



Other stuffs..

Enough clothes and make sure they suit the weather..
Comfortable shoes so you won't hurt your legs at the end of the day..
A printed itinerary so it'll be easier to refer to..
Copies of airline tickets..
List of Halal Food..
Toiletries, cosmetics and baby wipes..
Medications.. All of us are Pharmacist so we have our own meds :P

Paracetamol in case you have headache or fever.. Metoclopramide in case you have stomach upset and feeling nauseous and dizzy.. Antihistamine (non-drowsy is preferred if you don't want to fall asleep and miss the surroundings) I usually have my Tiger balm along because my bowel activity is very unpredictable when the weather change. Lomotil, Charcoal, ORS & Hyoscine for diarrhea...

and most importantly

AN ADVENTUROUS SPIRIT!! \(^^)/

Jun 18, 2012

Currently... 18 June 2012


Random.. Clad in my German jersey inside my tiny bedroom




I was only testing this fella. Bought it because I thought it'll be handy in upcoming trips; when you have nobody around to help you snap a group pic




Broke sebelum waktunya...



CURRENTLY TRAVELING (^^)