Feb 4, 2011

Tinggi Gunung Kinabalu~ (^^)

The last time I set foot on the grounds of Sabah highlands was actually about 8 years ago; right after SPM.. So, can you imagine how ecstatic I was about this trip?? If it weren't for the endless standing during my day in the ward, I probably couldn't sleep the night before; out of excitement. But I fell asleep very early and rose quite early too to prepare food..
Cooked mi goreng, chicken nugget and omlette hehe simple2 saja bha





Since I was on the wheel, I couldn't enjoy the sceneries that much. My eyes were focused on the winding road. I was actually quite nervous because I've never driven on winding roads before hehe On the left is the peak of mount Kinabalu. It was almost covered by the clouds there. On the right is a picture of this very huge waterfall. I wish to see it closer one day..


Actually, our main destination was Poring Hot Spring but I just coudn't resist the temptation to go to the Kinabalu Park. So when I saw the junction, I swerved to the left and went straight up until the starting point of the climb.. hehe See how excited I am in the pic!! The starting point is already so cold!! I was wearing a t-shirt, a cardigan and then I had to put on my sweater to get warm

e

The starting point is already quite high above the sea level so the surrounding forest was already the mossy type.. Before this, I only heard about the locals bringing up gas tanks on their backs. But that day I manage to see one!!! Quickly snapped the pic hehe


We didn't plan to try out the tracks at the first place, but then the entrance fee was quite cheap so.. WHY NOT!!!??? Hehe We hiked until the 1st checkpoint, Pondok Kandis. I was so surprised to see it is equipped with a sitting toilet haha O ya, there's a small waterfall halfway up..



Am I the only one in my batch who is getting fatter???


We did go to Poring as planned but by the time we arrived, my uncle's family was already on their way back to KK. We had our lunch in my car and then the kids went to swim their heart out in the sliding pool. I brought my clothes but was not in the mood to swim since the pools were jampacked with half-naked guys~ YUCK! So Pijah and I went to the canopy walk instead hehe




We were so hungry!!!!!



So this is how the canopy walk looked like. You have to pay Rm3 for adult and RM5 for your camera.. Weird right?? Your camera worth more than you...

The pic on the right is actually what lies below the canopy walk.. That's a waterfall there. With all those logs uprooted due to the land slide.. The scenery below it look so natural, you know.



So that's it~ I love Sabah~ Peace!

Jan 25, 2011

The Kite Runner~ T_T



I know I'm like more than half a decade late.. This book was published in 2003 and Khaled Hosseini already has his 2nd novel published.. I just finish reading this book recently and I have like tons of praises to laud this author for this very fascinating piece of work!

The book was known to me about 2 years ago when Len pointed at it during one of our strolls in MPH Midvalley. She said lots of people recommended it to her and she saw the book in our library in Kuantan. I wasn't paying much attention back then because I already had another book in mind but I'd kept the detail in my mind

The Kite Runner; good book. Must read one day~

I've to say it's the price of English books that deprived me from buying them during my study years. Soooooo discouragingly expensive! Now... I can buy them as much as I please!! Muahaha!! So back to the book.. Let me tell you what it did to me...

I started reading it on the flight back to Kota Kinabalu from Penang. It was undeniably a page-turner and I manage to read half of it during the flight. I was sandwiched in between two chinese girls; one was sound asleep with her head propped againts the window and the other one flipping through a chinese magazine. There I was; the book clasped in my left hand and my right hand was continuously pulling plies of tissues because tears kept running down my cheeks! I think I cried in 2/3 of the journey hahaha

So what's so0o0o0 special about the book???

1stly. The Language... I say Khaled Hosseini is a great story teller.. The words, the adjectives he used was in every way perfect to enable readers to imagine every single plots clearly. You can feel the sorrow, the guilt, the love and whatnot of every character. He didn't need bombastic words to make his story beautiful~

Then of course the story itself.. It starts off with the beauty of the friendship between Amir and Hassan. Hassan's loyalty towards Amir was unshakable and he was so naive! And I was very touched by Baba's generosity and humility. He accepted his own servant as family, built orphanage, help the poor, stood up to what he thought was right and many more. Baba's character has its own flaws but I say he's like a Hero! hehe

I was also touched by the love of the Afghans towards their land.. When Amir came back to search for Sohrab, at first he thought he had forgotten Afghanistan and Afghanistan had forgotten him.. But then he still feel the sense of belonging to the land when he was there despite how horrific the condition was due to wars.. He didn't recognize most of the places he visited after years of exile.

Everybody have to read this!!!!

This kind of story kind of remind you to put your feet on the ground no matter how high you soar above the sky~
This entry was posted in

Jan 19, 2011

Let's ROCK!!! in Kironggu (^^)/

When was the last time I wrote about my adventure~?? June?? July?? So0o0o0 long ago I guess that I couldn't even remember... Finally, on January 15, I had the chance to go back into the wild~ \(^^)/ yeay!!!!

Like Chris Sharma, I also have my own escort.. That's my cousin there.. I officially assigned her as my cameragirl but actually most of the sceneries are taken by me. Just the pics of me climbing were taken by her... And I had to scream from the top to alert her~
"Pijah!! Amek gambar!!!" hahaha



We departed from SICC around 8am and it was about 15-20 minutes drive to Kironggu from there. I've never been to that area and was quite surprise to find gravel road in KK. Well, it's actually an abandoned quarry, if i'm not mistaken... But the scenery was so nice over there.. Reminded me of my ARC days~



It was rather nostalgic walking along the path surrounded by lushes greenery.. You can hear the sound of waterfall from afar.. Singing birds.. It was as if nature was humming to the rhythm of my footsteps.. Like welcoming an old friend.. Wah! Soooo Nostalgic...



I was not informed about the existence of a waterfall just beside the rock climbing area and was so delighted to see it.. It's been too long since I last saw one... During my ARC days, waterfall was a norm.. You bath in it, sometimes even had your drink from it.. I immediately went to the waterfall instead of checking the climbing site. Too excited!!!



There are 4 routes all together and I only manage to finish three of it.. The rocks were sooooo slippery due to the heavy downpour the night before. I couldn't even smear!!!!



Rock climbing was sure a much much more different experience from wall climbing.. You have to search the place to hold on to and there were like so limited holds!!!! I felt like a blind girl as my hands crept along the rock surface to find the slightest crack for me to grip. Most of the time they are not visibe to the naked eye; you have to FEEL it... Be one with the rock~

At one time, I was only standing on a very tiny crack!!!! Like less than an inch and that really hurt my toe~

The pic at the left; I almost give up there!! There's a cave just below me and when I was standing there I couldn't find any place to hold on to.. I can't even see what was on top of me.. Really depressing! There was this huge crack but then it was a loose rock so I can't take the risk.. I don't know how I finally got up there haha It was the magic of positive thinking and determination, I guess..



Mesut evolve had his bath in the waterfall.. Just the sole that is~ hehe



This is the pic taken from 1/3 of the rock.. Roy, me, Ryan Pijah, Nelly, Zack, Lee and Shawn. Vince was behind the camera..

I really like it in SICC.. All the climbers are like one big family (^^)




Hurm.. Looking forward for coming trips.. I miss my ARC days~ I really do~